Week 5 – Virtual Resumes Continued

This week I created my own Linkedin account (the first time I have done this). It was an interesting experience, as I had not realised how big the Linkedin network was. It was quite amazing to see how much information and opportunity could be accessed through this online business network. It also showed me how useful a virtual resume could be. The amount of jobs on offer from local to national to international was immense. Linked in paired with a virtual portfolio is an exceptional way to not only bring exposure, but it also means that you can set filters allowing relevant job offers to directly target you. 

After setting up my account, I selected several different fields of expertise and interest and also selected employment criteria. Within the week, I had already received 5 job offers and about 300 employment opportunities to view. Through experiencing this first hand, I was able to further refine my criteria so as to only get targeted by the most relevant companies. Linked in is a great asset to expose my virtual portfolio and I think I will greatly benefit from it. 

Leave a comment